Two Ways to Help as OPA-SOC Prepares for July 11th Public Hearing

Dear OPA Supporters:

Thank you to so many of you who have made calls and sent notes of encouragement regarding our work to make sure Capistrano Unified School District (CUSD) knows of all the progress OPA has made to rectify the mistakes made by others in the past. Your positive support of Oxford Prep-SOC on behalf of all Champions is very important and appreciated.

Many of you have also asked how you can help ahead of the CUSD public hearing scheduled for July 11 at 6:00 PM. What is clear is that the CUSD board needs to keep hearing from our supporters that revoking the charter of the district’s highest performing school because of the actions of people no longer associated with the school is wrong. Revocation is the “nuclear option” and a last resort intended for schools that fail to meet the needs of students. Clearly, revocation is not called for in the case of Oxford Prep-SOC.

There are two things you can do right now to make sure the CUSD board hears from you.

First, sign the petition in the link below and share the link with your friends, family, and others in your networks.

Sign the Petition

Second, email the board members and Superintendent directly and let them know how important OPA is to you and that punishing OPA-SOC families for the mistakes of others in the past is not in the best interest of Orange County students. Please remember that all of our communication should be respectful and constructive, as that is who we are. All of the email addresses are listed below.

Martha McNicholas, President
mmcnicholas@capousd.org

Gila Jones, Vice President
gijones@capousd.org

Patricia Holloway, Clerk
paholloway@capousd.org

Amy Hanacek, Board Member
ahanacek@capousd.org

Judy Bullockus, Board Member
jlbullockus@capousd.org

Gary Pritchard, Ph.D. Board Member
gpritchard@capousd.org

Jim Reardon, Board Member
jmreardon@capousd.org

Kirsten M. Vital
superintendent@capousd.org

Thank you again for your continued support and please let me know if you have any questions.

Warmly,
Kathi Daugherty